Awards Committees

Submissions of applications and nominations for all MSA Awards are to be made by following the detailed instructions provided via the links for each award on the main MSA Awards page.

MSA Awards Committee Memberships for 2018–2019:

MSA Award Coordinator
Andrea Porras-Alfaro,

Chris Schardl,

Mycological Society Distinctions Committee
Awards administered:
 Distinguished Mycologist Award, Alexopoulos Prize, Weston Award for Excellence in Teaching, The Gordon and Tina Wasson Award

Chair: Dennis Desjardin,


Honorary Awards Committee

Awards administered: MSA Fellows, Honorary Members

Chair: Kerry O’Donnell,


Student Awards Committee

Awards Administered: MSA Graduate Fellowships, NAMA Memorial Fellowship, Backus Award, Undergraduate Research Award, Best Oral and Poster Presentations by Undergraduate and Graduate Students

Chair: Allison Walker,


Mentor Travel Awards Committee

Awards Administered: Mentor Student Travel Awards

Chair: Sara Branco,


Research Awards Committee:

Awards Administered: Martin-Baker Award, Clark T. Rogerson Student Research Award, Forest Fungal Ecology Research Award, Forest Fungal Ecology Postdoctoral Research Award, Alexander H. and Helen V. Smith Research Award, John W. Rippon Research Award, Salomon Bartnicki-Garcia Award, Emory Simmons Research Award, Translational Mycology Awards (regular and postdoctoral), Robert W. Lichtwardt Student Research Award

Chair: Tim James,


International Travel Awards

Awards Administered: International Travel Awards

Chair: Gábor Kovács,